Award Ceremony Holberg International Memorial Prize 2012 and Nils Klim Prize 2012

Manuel CastellsHolberg Prize laureate 2012 Manuel Castells. Photo: Maggie Smith.
Sara HoboltNils Klim Prize laureate 2012 Sara Hobolt. Photo: privat.

Date: 6 June 2012
Time: 14:00
Location: Håkonshallen, Bergenhus festning, Bergen

Holberg International Memorial Prize 2012 is awarded to Manuel Castells.

From the citation of the Holberg Prize Academic Committee:
"Manuel Castells is the leading sociologist of the city and new information and media technologies. His ideas and writings have shaped our understanding of the political dynamics of urban and global economies in the network society." Read more.

The Holberg International Memorial Prize is presented by HRH The Crown Princess Mette-Marit

Nils Klim Prize 2012 is awarded to Sara Hobolt.

From the citation from the Nils Klim Prize Academic Committee:
"Sara Hobolt’s research covers a wide range of key issues in studies of comparative politics: European integration, elections and referendums, but also the interaction between media, processes of opinion formation and responsiveness and responsibility of political elites and party systems. She combines the use of methods at the cutting edge of quantitative empirical methodology with an interest in such crucial questions as the nature and direction of development of national political systems as well as of the entire process of European integration." Read more.

The Nils Klim Prize is presented by Minister of Education and Research Kristin Halvorsen.