Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund

The Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund was established by the Norwegian Parliament 1 July 2003. On its inception, the fund's capital was NOK 200 million. The main purpose of the memorial fund is to raise the status of the academic fields of the arts and humanities, social sciences, law and theology.

Every year the Board of the Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund awards the Holberg International Memorial Prize and the Nils Klim Prize. The formal award ceremony for the Holberg Prize takes place in Håkonshallen in Bergen in June every year. The prizes are intended to raise the status of these academic fields and to increase society's awareness of the importance of research in these fields. The Holberg Prize School Project is a research competition for students in upper secondary school, and it is organised annually in order to stimulate interest among children and young people in these academic fields.

The annual return on the fund is allocated to the University of Bergen, which is responsible for making the award to prizewinners and other use of the assets. The University of Bergen has appointed a Board for the Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund. The Board is chaired by Professor Sigmund Grønmo at the University of Bergen, and consists of Professor Petter Aaslestad at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) Professor Øivind Andersen at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Professor Trude Haugli at the University of Tromsø and Kjellbjørg Lunde, former Director of Education at the County Governor of Hordaland.


See also:


Board of the Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund

Sigmund Grønmo,
University of Bergen

Trude Haugli,
University of Tromsø

Petter Aaslestad,

Øivind Andersen,
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

Director of education
Kjellbjørg Lunde,
County Governor of Hordaland