Press Room

Welcome to the Press Room for the Holberg Prize, Nils Klim Prize and Holberg Prize School Project. Here you will find the latest press releases, photos and biographies.




Cass R. Sunstein (b. 1954) is currently the Robert Walmsley University Professor at Harvard University. From 2009 to 2012, he was Administrator of the White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs, where he helped oversee a wide range of reforms involving safety, air quality, civil rights, open government, climate change, economic opportunity, health, and reduction of poverty. He is the founder and director of the Program on Behavioral Economics and Public Policy at Harvard Law School.

Mr. Sunstein has been involved in constitution-making and law reform activities in many nations. His government service includes membership on President Barack Obama's Review Group on Intelligence and Communications Technologies (2013) and the U.S. Department of Defense's Innovation Board (2016-2017).

Mr. Sunstein is author of hundreds of articles and dozens of books, including (2001), Risk and Reason (2002), Why Societies Need Dissent (2003), The Second Bill of Rights (2004), Laws of Fear: Beyond the Precautionary Principle (2005), Worst-Case Scenarios (2001), Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness (with Richard H. Thaler, 2008), Simpler: The Future of Government (2013), Conspiracy Theories and Other Dangerous Ideas (2014), The World According to Star Wars (2016), The Ethics of Influence (2016), #Republic (2017), Impeachment (2017), Legal Reasoning and Political Conflict (2d. ed. 2018), and The Cost-Benefit Revolution (forthcoming 2018). He is now working on various projects on the relationship between social norms and social change.

Citations from the Holberg Committee
Prize Winner Page




Those who wish to contact a scholar with expert knowledge of Professor Cass Sunstein and his research, may contact the Holberg Prize Secretariate for more information.




Francesca R. Jensenius is a Senior Researcher at the Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (NUPI). She specializes in comparative politics and comparative political economy, with a regional focus on South Asia and Latin America. Her main research interest is to understand how institutional design and electoral dynamics affect different types of inequality. Several of her publications are about state approaches to empowering minority and women in India and elsewhere. 

In the book Social Justice through Inclusion: The Consequences of Electoral Quotas in India (Oxford University Press, 2017), Jensenius explores the long-term effects of electoral quotas for the Scheduled Castes (the former "untouchables"). Jensenius is currently working on several projects related to the relationship between political institutions, electoral dynamics, and local-level development patterns in India, as well as a comparative project about how legal regimes and legal change across the world differentially affect women and other marginalized communities. 

Jensenius holds a PhD in Political Science from University of California, Berkeley (2013), where she specialized in Comparative Politics, South Asian politics, and Research Methods. Before starting at UC Berkeley she pursued studies in Political Science and Hindi at Duke University, Delhi University and the University of Oslo. Starting in April 2018, she will be Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Oslo.

Citations from the Nils Klim Committee
Prize Winner Page
Transcript of interview for Nils Klim/NUPI podcast, 5 March, 2018 (May be used freely by the media.)



Those who wish to contact a scholar with expert knowledge of Francesca R. Jensenius and her field of research, may contact:

Professor Arild Engelsen Ruud
University of Oslo
Tel: +47 995 33 823


Press release, 8 June 2017: The Holberg Prize conferred upon Baroness Onora O’Neill
Press release, 14 March 2017: The Holberg Prize Names British Philosopher and Kant Scholar Baroness Onora O’Neill of Bengarve as 2017 Laureate
Press release, 14 March 2017: The Holberg Prize Names British Philosopher and Kant Scholar Baroness Onora O’Neill of Bengarve as 2017 Laureate (w/ Nils Klim information)
Press release, 14 March 2017: Investigadora de Kant y filósofa de derechos humanos recibe el Premio Holberg
Press release, 14 March 2017: Kant-Forscherin und Menschenrechtsphilosophin erhält den Holberg-Preis
Press release, 14 March 2017: Une spécialiste de Kant et de la philosophie des droits de l’homme reçoit le Prix Holberg
Press release, 11 March 2016: The Holberg Prize Names American Literature Professor and Shakespeare Scholar as 2016 Laureate
Press release, 11 March 2016: Swedish EU Researcher Awarded Nordic Research Prize
Press release, 11 March 2016: Le prix Holberg est décerné à un chercheur américain, spécialiste de Shakespeare
Press release, 11 March 2016: Holberg-Preis 2016 geht an amerikanischen Shakespeare-Forscher
Press release, 11 March 2016: Investigador estadounidense de Shakespeare recibe el Premio Holberg
Press release 11 August 2015: Ellen Mortensen appointed as new Adademic Director for the Holberg Prize
Press release 10 June 2015:  The Holberg Prize Awarded to Marina Warner Today
Press release 12 March 2015: The Holberg Prize Names British Storyteller and Fairytale Critic Marina Warner as 2015 Laureate
Press release 12 March 2015: Danish EU scholar receives Nordic award


Holberg Prize: Norwegian jpgnorwegian epsenglish jpgenglish eps
Nils Klim Prize: Norwegian jpgnorwegian epsenglish jpgenglish eps
Holberg Prize School Project: Norwegian jpgnorwegian eps



    The Holberg Prize is the largest international, annual academic award within the arts and humanities, social sciences, law and theology.
    The prize was established by the Norwegian government in 2003 and has a money value of NOK 6 millioner (approx. EUR 617,000 / USD 760,000).
    Previous winners include Stephen Greenblatt, Jürgen Habermas and Julia Kristeva.
    The Holberg Prize is named after the scholar and author Ludvig Holberg, who brought the Age of Enlightenment to the Nordic countries.


    The Nils Klim Prize is awarded annually to a Nordic scholar under the age of 35 for excellent research contributions within the arts, humanities, social sciences, law and theology. 
    The prize has a money value of NOK 500 000 and is presented together with the Holberg Prize each year.
    The prize is named after the hero in Ludvig Holberg’s novel Nils Klim’s journey to the underworld from 1741.