Dahlske Upper Secondary School

Aina Pedersen, Beate Haugen, Helene Storenes, Helene Storsæter, Serina Hansen from Dahlske Upper Secondary School in Aust-Agder, won theHolberg Prize School Project 2017.


Katrine Vellesen Løken

Katrine Vellesen Løken is awarded the 2017 Nils Klim Prize for her research on the Nordic welfare states, with particular emphasis on family economics, labour economics and health economics.


Onora O'Neill

The British philosopher Onora O'Neill is awarded the Holberg Prize 2017 for her influental work in the field of moral and political philosophy.

Upcoming events

Wednesday 6. June 2018
The official award ceremony for the Holberg Prize and the Nils Klim Prize
Wednesday 6. June 2018
Announcement and Award Ceremony of the Holberg Prize School Project Winners and the Teacher Prize 2018
Kunngjøring 2014_Akademisk kvarter
Wednesday 14. March 2018
On March 14 we will announce the winner of the Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize 2018. The ceremony can be watched live from 9:00.

News Holberg Prize

On 13 February the Holberg Board decided that the prize amount would increase from NOK 4.5 million to NOK 6 million (USD 760,000). The increase is effective this year.

Last week, the Holberg Committee convened in Amsterdam, and Nils Klim Laureate Claes de Vreese spoke at the Norwegian Honorary Consulate General.

Nils Klim Prize News

Fourteen years have passed since Claes de Vreese became the first Nils Klim Laureate. In this 2017 interview, he discusses pressing political issues and describes his research interests, which range from political communication and media framing to electoral behavior, and more.

The Nils Klim Committee met in Copenhagen on 16 January and are now ready with their recommendation for a prize winner for 2018.