About the Holberg Prize

The Holberg Prize is awarded annually to scholars who have made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social science, law or theology.

The Prize for 2015 amounts to 4.5 million NOK (approximately 538 000 EUR / 735 000 USD)

Election of prize winners

Scholars holding positions at universities and other research institutions, including academies, are entitled to nominate candidates to the Holberg Prize and the Nils Klim Prize. Deadline for nomination is June 15th each year.

The Holberg Prize Board awards the Prize at the recommendation of the Holberg Committee. The function of the nomination is to make the Committee aware of the candidate’s work.

Holberg Committee

  • Mary Jacobus, Professor Emerita, University of Cambridge og Cornell University; tidl. direktør, Centre for Research in the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, Cambridge.
  • Pratap Bhanu Mehta, President, Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi
  • Etan Kohlberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Dame Hazel Genn, University College London
  • Björn Wittrock, Uppsala Universitetet, Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study (SCAS)

The Holberg Board

  • Professor Sigmund Grønmo, Universitetet i Bergen (chair)
  • Professor Trude Haugli, Universitet i Tromsø
  • Professor Petter Aaslestad, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Professor Øivind Andersen, Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
  • Kjellbjørg Lunde, former director of education at the County Governor of Hordaland
Dates of future Award Ceremonies:
Statutes for the Holberg Prize

Established by the Ministry of Education and Research January 2004, last revised December 10.2013. Read more.

About Ludvig Holberg

The Holberg Prize is named after Ludvig Holberg, who was born in Bergen in 1684 and held the Chairs of Metaphysics and Logic, Latin Rhetoric and History at the University of Copenhagen. Holberg played an important part in bringing the Enlightenment to the Nordic countries. More about Ludvig Holberg